Winners of Stage One HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Badges for Lifelong Learning Competition

[ 0 ] December 14, 2011 |

The HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Badges for Lifelong Learning Competition today announced the 60 winners of Stage One of the Competition. For the list of winners, see

The Competition is held in collaboration with the Mozilla Foundation, and is part of the 4th Digital Media and Learning Competition funded by the MacArthur Foundation and administered by HASTAC.  The Badges for Lifelong Learning Competition is designed to
encourage the creation of digital badges and badge systems that support, identify, recognize, measure, and account for new skills, competencies, knowledge, and achievements for 21st century learners wherever and whenever learning takes place.

Stage One applicants were asked to submit ideas for compelling learning content, activities, or programs for which a badge or set of badges would be useful for recognizing learning that takes place in a particular area or topic. Winning applications represent a wide array of public and private institutions and organizations from around the world, including museums, non-profits, after-school programs, research institutions and for-profit companies. Proposed content for badge systems address a breadth of topics—from the promotion of civic engagement and community volunteerism, to STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics) learning in and out of the classroom, to digital literacy, to workforce preparedness and beyond. Winning applications are available for public perusal and commenting at

Based on response in Stage Two, winners of Stage One may be paired with winning badge design/technology teams for the opportunity to work collaboratively on developing a badge system to be judged in Stage Three. Stage Two, which seeks badge system design and tech proposals that respond to Stage One winning content or content from one of the Competition’s official Collaborators—including the Department of Education, the Department of Veteran Affairs, Microsoft, Intel, NASA, the American Library Association and more–opens on December 12, 2011. Full information can be found at

Stage One Winners List:

Jodi Asbell-Clarke, TERC, Canada
Steven Atneosen, DebateHall, United States
Michelle Aubrecht, Ohio State University, United States
Michelle Baldwin, Hands on Atlanta, United States
Jennifer Schwarz Ballard, Chicago Botanic Garden, United States
John Bell, ICD, University of Maine, United States
Jesse Blom, Sweet Water Foundation Inc., United States
Michael Braithwaite, Providence After School Alliance (PASA), United States
Rebecca Bray, Smithsonian Institution – NMNH, United States
Kaye Buchman, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, United States
Michael Capobianco, MOUSE Inc., United States
Jeanne Century, Center for Elementary Mathematics and Science Education, Physical Sciences
Division, University of Chicago, United States
Tara Chklovski, Iridescent, United States
Jean-Philippe Choinière, Scolab, Canada
Ruth Cohen, American Museum of Natural History, United States
Bill Dahl, PlantingScience/Botanical Society of America, United States
DigitalMe, DigitalMe, Great Britain
Angela Elkordy, Eastern Michigan University, United States
Lucy Erickson, Chimp-n-Sea Wildlife Conservation Fund, Great Britain
Michael Furdyk, TakingITGlobal, Canada
David Gagnon, ARIS Project – University of Wisconsin – Madison, United States
Stephen Gilman, Center for Creative Education, United States
Steve Goldenberg, Interfolio Inc., United States
Laura Gordon, WNET, United States
Kelly Gorman, Smithsonian Institution, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, United States
Diana Graber, CyberWise, United States
Tene’ Gray, Digital Youth Network, United States
Ian Guest, Sheffield High School, Great Britain
Susan Harris, University of Southern California Joint Educational Project, United States
Ross Higashi, Carnegie Mellon Robotics Academy, United States
Jude Higdon, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, United States
Marisa Jahn, People’s Production House, United States
Dolly Joseph, Computers4Kids, United States
Edward Keller, Parsons The New School For Design, School of Design Strategies, United States
Gene Koo, iCivics, Inc., United States
Denise LaBuda, Economic Independence Group, LLC, United States
Joey J. Lee, Teachers College, Columbia University, United States
Peter Levine, Tisch College, Tufts University, United States
Daniel Rees Lewis, Design for America, United States
Jeremy Liu, East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation, United States
Laurina Isabella Lyle, Project WET Foundation, United States
Bruce Mason, American Association of Physics Teachers, United States
Stephanie Norby, Smithsonian Center for Education & Museum Studies, United States
Joanna Normoyle, Agricultural Sustainability Institute at University of California, Davis, United States
Susi Owusu, 10:10, Great Britain
Brett Pierce, Steel River Productions, Inc., United States
Arun Prabhakaran, Urban Affairs Coalition, United States
Katie Rast, Fab Lab, United States
Justine Richardson, MATRIX/Michigan State University, United States
Jon Rosewell, The Open University, Great Britain
Richard Scullin,, United States
Eric Schwarz, Citizen Schools, United States
Deborah Sliter, National Environmental Education Foundation, United States
Jennifer Sly, Minnesota Historical Society, United States
Lonny Stern, STEM Council at Skillpoint Alliance, United States
Spencer Striker, University of Wisconsin at Whitewater, United States
Lora Taub-Pervizpour, Muhlenberg College, United States
Nancy Trautmann, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, United States
Maya Wiseman, Bottled City Project, Germany
Christopher Wisniewski, Museum of the Moving Image, United States
The Digital Media & Learning competition is a HASTAC initiative supported by a grant from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation to the University of California Humanities Research Institute. 

Related posts:

  1. Why Open Education Matters – Video Competition Winners
  2. Applications open Badges for Lifelong Learning – Awards $10,000 – $200,000
  3. Digital Media and Learning Competition 4 – Deadline Oct 14
  4. MacArthur Foundation Announces Winners for Digital Media and Learning Competition
  5. University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education and the Milken Family Foundation Name Winners of the 2013 Education Business Plan Competition


Category: Competitions

Comments are closed.